Chasing Hoody

Okay, Hooligans, pay attention:

Silent Bob: So, there’s me and Amy. And we’re all inseparable, right? Big time in love. Then four months down the road, the idiot gear kicks in, and I ask about the ex-boyfriend. Which, as we all know, is a really dumb move. But you know how you don’t wanna know, but just have to know–stupid guy bullshit. So, anyway, she starts telling me about him. How they fell in love, how they went out for a couple of yeas, how they lived together, her mother likes me better, blah blah blah blah blah. And I’m okay. Then she drops the bomb. And the bomb is this: it seems that a couple of times while they were going out, he brought some people to bed with him, “menage a troi,” I believe it’s called. And this just blows my mind, right? I mean, I am not used to this sorta thing; I was raised Catholic, for Gods sake.
So I’m totally weirded out by this, right? So I start blasting her. I mean, I don’t know how to deal with what I’m feeling, so I figure the best way is to call her ‘slut,’ tell her she was used. I’m out for blood, I really want to hurt this girl. I’m like, “What the fuck is your problem,” right? And she’s just trying to calmly tell me it was that time, it was that place, and she doesn’t feel like she should apologize because she doesn’t feel that she’s done anything wrong. And I say, “Oh, really?” That’s when I look her straight in the eye, tell her it’s over. I walk.
Jay: Fucking-A.
Bob: No, idiot, it was a mistake. I wasn’t disgusted with her, I was afraid. In that moment, I felt small, like I lacked experience, like I’d never be enough for her or something like that, you know what I’m saying? But what I did not get: she didn’t care. She wasn’t looking for that guy any more. She was looking for me, for the Bob. But by the time I figured this all out, it was too late. She had moved on. And all I had to show for it was some foolish pride which gave way to regret. She was the girl. I know that now. But (lights a cigarette) I pushed her away.(pause) So I spend every day since then chasing Amy. (pause) So to speak.

Most of you will, if I know my audience, will recognize this as Silent Bob’s speech at the end of the movie “Chasing Amy.”  Now my question to y’all is… how would you feel to find out you were someone’s “Amy?”  Pretty fuckin’ good, right?  Damn skippy!

So, the question:  Who’s your “Amy?”  And do they know?

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Chasing Hoody

  1. I don’t have an Amy. (And yes, I undoubtedly recognized it).

    But, this post begs the question . . . did YOU just find out that you’re someone’s Amy? Fess up!

    Like

  2. I recognized it too. And I’m someone’s “Amy.” You know… A dude version.

    Like

  3. I freaking love Silent Bob. When he speaks, it’s always genius.

    Like

  4. Have you read “Tough Sh*t” by Kevin Smith? Don’t. Get the audio book because it has extras and HE reads it. It’s awesome.

    I don’t have an Amy, nor am I an Amy. I broke up with most of my past boyfriends out of boredom.

    Like

  5. To the best of my knowledge I am not an Amy. And as of this moment I have caught my Amy. Luckily I didn’t have to be a genius with words, just honest really and bam… There he is. I feel pretty damn lucky.

    So who, who, who????

    Like

  6. Hubby is my Amy 🙂
    We met at 9 years old and have been dating since 16. Yesterday was our 4 year wedding anniversary and we now have a two month old daughter. Hubby is my Amy, and I’ll tell him so!

    Like

  7. Totally sappy AND late to the game, but I’m pretty sure I’m with my Amy. We once drove to Kentucky–a seven hour trip. We’d brought an iPod queued up with lots of NPR nerdery, but we got to talking as the Dude put the car in gear, and then, BAM! We were in Kentucky, and it was nine hours later. (Apparently, there was traffic. I honestly don’t remmber.)

    Like

  8. Pingback: The Husbands of Hoody | hoodyhoo

  9. Pingback: The Wonderful World of Broadcasting, Episode II | hoodyhoo

Leave a Reply

