Chow Down, Bitches!

Since I spent so much of the vacation posts talking about food, it seemed only fair to share with y’all some of the deliciousness that was consumed.  For those of you who like to cook (as I do, but only when I WANT to do it), here are the recipes to try — those of you who don’t cook will have to get your asses to Wes’BYGAWD Virginny and I’ll make all this stuff for ya!

East Coast Aunt’s Chicken & Rice Bake

1 can Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup

1 cup water (or half water, half milk)

3/4 cup UNCOOKED white or brown rice

4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts, cut up into bite-sized pieces

1 can sliced mushrooms, drained

black pepper, salt, paprika to taste

Pre-heat oven to 375 (Farenheit, for all y’all foreigners!).  Brown chicken in skillet (in peanut or canola oil, your choice).  Combine chicken, soup, water/milk, black pepper, salt and mushrooms with DRY rice in a shallow baking dish (lightly greased).  Dust with paprika to make it pretty.

Bake at 375 for 45 minutes or until browned.

DAYUM!  Hoody Makes Some GOOD Seafood Salad!

1 large pkg fake krab delites (flake style)

4-6 stalks celery, de-stringed and chopped small

1/2 to 1/3 small white onion, finely chopped

Hellmann’s (or Best Foods) Mayonaisse

Miracle Whip, black pepper and garlic powder to taste

Dill Weed to taste and as final garnish

Shred krab into a large bowl, add celery and onion; mix well.  Add enough Hellmann’s to make it all stick together; add a little squirt of Miracle Whip for zest.  Add garlic powder, black pepper and dill weed to taste.  Mix again, then dust with dill weed for presentation and chill well.

Serve on all-butter croissants.

The best thing about the above 2 recipes is that they are VERY EASY to expand or contract as needed — more people = get more chicken or krab.  Less people = still get more, just eat it yourself!

And by popular demand, for some of you whose education has been sorely lacking… (I blame your parents, who apparently cared about your arteries or something…)

Seriously?  You’re FRYING VEGETABLES?

Ya damn skippy.

3-4 Yellow Squash

6-7 Green Tomatoes

3-4 Green Zucchini

About 10 okra pods, ends removed

Corn Meal, Milk, One egg (optional)

Black Pepper and Salt

Canola or Peanut cooking oil (LOTS)

Clean and slice all veggies.  Chill in fridge to make breading stick better.  Prepare the milk wash (with egg, if desired) and the dry drench (whole mess of corn meal, black pepper and salt to taste).  Heat oil in a large, deep skillet until a piece of meal flicked into it sizzles.  Dip Veggies in milk and roll in cornmeal; fry QUICKLY on both sides, cooking in small batches.

Remove from pan and drain on paper towels; continue until all veggies are cooked.  Serve immediately and get your fingers outta the way iffen you don’t wanna lose one!

If it turns out y’all like this, I’ll do more recipes later… including the impossibly easy and yet so delicious Chicken-Mushroom Chowder I made up in a fit of pique, the ever-popular Broccoli Stuff, and maybe more!

 

10 Comments

Filed under Adventures with Dear Sweet Mama, I Rule You, La Vida Loca

10 responses to “Chow Down, Bitches!

  1. Dear Sweet Mama

    ummmm – krab salad. mmmmmm.

    Like

  2. Oh no, now I’m afraid our love affair must end. It seems that you are enamored by that horrible furry fungus, also known as mushrooms. I just can’t be with someone who partakes of that grey demon of a vegetable. It is a shame that it must end this way, but alas, it just was not meant to be. Take care . . . and keep those foul things away from me!

    Like

  3. It makes my brain burn to think about having both Miracle Whip and mayo in my refrigerator at the same time. So the krabliciousness is going to have to wait until the next time my office goes bowling for our “wellness activity” so I can steal a package of MW from the burger stand.

    Like

    • I wouldn’t feel right NOT to have both MW and Hellmann’s in the fridge… they’re for different things! Or maybe my OCD is showing… AGAIN… And why is it that you don’t have to refrigerate those little packets? Something fishy there…

      Like

  4. Hungry! Now I’m hungry!!

    Pearl

    Like

  5. I LOOOVE fried veggies! So when my rig and I get to WesBYGAWD Virginny will you invite me in for some fried veggies? I might be persuaded to use some of my extracts and bake for you 🙂 (provided, of course, I have spilled them all!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

